The Michigan–Michigan State football rivalry is an American School football Competition between the University of Michigan Wolverines and Michigan State University Spartans.

Since 1953, the winner of each year’s game has received the Paul Bunyan Trophy. The teams played in 1898 and have met virtually every year since 1910 (exceptions in 1943 and 1944). 44 of the first 50 games have been played in Ann Arbor, but since then, U of M and MSU have played 30 home games against every other. The competition became a summit rivalry with Michigan State’s entry into the Big Ten Conference in 1950.
The teams have fulfilled 111 occasions with Michigan winning 70 games, Michigan State winning 36 matches, and five games end with the score tied. Michigan dominated the series for its first half century, compiling a 33–6–3 album from 1898 to 1949. The wave shifted to Michigan State in the 1950s and 1960s, as the Spartans under head coaches Biggie Munn and Duffy Daugherty compiled a 14–4–2 album from 1950 to 1969. The tide then changed back into the Wolverines since Michigan compiled a 30–8 record against the Spartans from 1970 to 2007. Since 2008, Michigan State has dominated the show with a 8–3 album.
Michigan State’s longest winning streak against Michigan is four matches. Michigan’s longest winning streak against Michigan State is 14 games.

Read more: