The FIFA World Cup, often just referred to as the World Cup, is an international association football competition contested by the older men’s national groups of the members of the F??d??ration Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s international governing body. The championship was given every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 as it wasn’t held due to the Second World War. The current champion is France, which won its second title at the 2018 tournament in Russia.
The current format of the competition involves a qualification phase, which currently takes place within the preceding three decades, to determine which groups qualify for the tournament phase, which is frequently called the World Cup Finals. Next, 32 teams, such as the mechanically qualifying host country (s), compete in the championship period for the name at venues within the host nation(s) within a span of roughly a month.
The 21 World Cup tournaments are won by eight federal teams. Brazil have won five occasions, and they’re the only team to have played every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four titles each; Argentina, France and inaugural winner Uruguay, with two titles each; and England and Spain with one title each.
The World Cup is the most prestigious institution football tournament in the world, as well as the most widely viewed and followed sporting event in the world, exceeding even the Olympic Games; the cumulative viewership of all matches of the 2006 World Cup was likely to be 26.29 billion with an estimated 715.1 million people watching the final match, a continuation of the whole population of the planet. [1][2][3][4]
17 states have hosted the World Cup. Brazil, France, Italy, Germany and Mexico have each hosted twice, while Uruguay, Switzerland, Sweden, Chile, England, Argentina, Spain, the USA, Japan and South Korea (collectively ), South Africa and Russia have each hosted formerly. Qatar are intended as hosts of the 2022 finals, also 2026 will be jointly hosted by Canada, the USA and Mexico, which will give Mexico the distinction of becoming the first nation to have hosted games in three finals.
The world’s first global football game was a challenge match played Glasgow in 1872 between Scotland and England,[5] which ended in a 0–0 draw. The very first international championship, the inaugural British Home Championship, happened in 1884. [6] As soccer grew in popularity in different parts of the world at the start of the 20th century, it was held as a demonstration game with no medals awarded at the 1900 and 1904 Summer Olympics (however, the International Olympic Committee has retroactively upgraded their standing to official events), and at the 1906 Intercalated Games. [7]
After FIFA was founded in 1904, it strove to organize an international football tournament between nations away from the Olympic framework in Switzerland in 1906. These were very early days for international football, and also the official history of FIFA describes the competition as having been a failure. [8]
At the 1908 Summer Olympics in London, football became an official competition. Planned by The Football Association (FA), England’s soccer governing body, the occasion was for amateur players simply and was regarded suspiciously as a series as opposed to a competition. Fantastic Britain (represented by the England national amateur soccer team) won the gold awards. They repeated the feat at the 1912 Summer Olympics in Stockholm.
Together with the Olympic event continuing to be contested only between amateur teams, Sir Thomas Lipton organised the Sir Thomas Lipton Trophy tournament in Turin in 1909. The Lipton championship was a championship involving individual clubs (not federal teams) from various countries, each of which represented an entire nation. The competition may be described as The First World Cup,[9] and showcased the most prestigious professional club sides from Italy, Germany and Switzerland, but the FA of England refused to be associated with the competition and declined the offer to send a team. Lipton invited West Auckland, an amateur side from County Durham, to represent England instead. West Auckland won the tournament and returned in 1911 to successfully defend their title.
In 1914, FIFA agreed to recognise the Olympic championship as a”world football championship for amateurs”, and took responsibility for managing the event. [10] This paved the way for the world’s first intercontinental football competition, at the 1920 Summer Olympics, contested by Egypt and 13 European groups, and won by Belgium. [11] Uruguay won the next two Olympic football tournaments in 1924 and 1928. Those were also the initial two open world championships, as 1924 was the start of FIFA’s professional age.

Read more: